Topics: News, Press

UFCW’s Essential Workers Support Champions for Working People in 2024 Primary Election

Sacramento, CA – The United Food and Commercial Workers (UFCW) Western States Council today released the council’s list of 2024 Primary Election endorsed candidates that will amplify, uplift, and carry the voices of all working people in California. UFCW Western States Council represents 200,000 workers in grocery, retail, drug stores, food processing and the cannabis industry, among other sectors in California, Arizona and Nevada.

“The decisions Californians make at the ballot box have increasingly far-reaching effects on the lives of working people,” said Mark Ramos, president, UFCW Western States Council and UFCW Local 1428. “The future of wages, jobs, healthcare, reproductive freedom and our right to feel protected on the jobsite will be decided in large part by the people elected this year. That’s why we have put in the long hours, asked the tough questions and are committing to these champions. We will work tirelessly to get out the vote for candidates that stand with hard-working UFCW members and are committed to improving their lives on the job and in their communities.”

UFCW Western States Council’s 2024 Candidate Endorsements:


AD 2           Rusty Hicks

AD 4           Cecilia Aguiar-Curry

AD 7           Porshe Middleton

AD 10         Stephanie Nguyen

AD 11         Lori Wilson

AD 12         Damon Connolly

AD 13         Rhodesia Ransom

AD 14         Buffy Wicks

AD 15         Monica Wilson

AD 16         Rebecca Bauer-Kahan

AD 17         Matt Haney

AD 19         Catherine Stefani

AD 20         Liz Ortega-Toro

AD 21         Diane Papan

AD 22         Jessica Self

AD 23         Marc Berman

AD 24         Alex Lee

AD 26         Dual Endorsement:

                     Patrick Ahrens

                     Tara Sreekrishnan

AD 27         Esmeralda Soria

AD 28         Gail Pellerin

AD 29         Robert Rivas

AD 30         Dawn Addis

AD 31         Joaquin Arambula

AD 33         Angel Ruiz

AD 35         Jasmeet Bains

AD 36         Joey Acuña

AD 37         Gregg Hart

AD 38         Steve Bennett

AD 39         Juan Carrillo

AD 40         Pilar Schiavo

AD 41         Phlunte Riddle

AD 42         Jacqui Irwin

AD 43         Celeste Rodriquez

AD 44         Nick Schultz

AD 45         James Ramos

AD 46         Jesse Gabriel

AD 47         Christy Holstege

AD 49         Mike Fong

AD 50         Dejonae Shaw

AD 51         Rick Chavez Zbur

AD 54         Mark Gonzalez

AD 55         Isaac Bryan

AD 56         Lisa Calderon

AD 58         Clarissa Cervantes

AD 60         Corey Jackson

AD 61         Tina McKinnor

AD 62         José Luis Solache

AD 64         Blanca Pacheco

AD 65         Mike Gipson

AD 66         Al Muratsuchi

AD 67         Sharon Quirk-Silva

AD 68         Avelino Valencia

AD 69         Josh Lowenthal

AD 73         Cottie Petrie-Norris

AD 74         Chris Duncan

AD 75         Kevin Juza

AD 76         Joseph Rocha

AD 77         Tasha Boerner

AD 78         Chris Ward

AD 80         David Alvarez



SD 3            Dual Endorsement:

Rozzana Verder Aliga

Jackie Elward

SD 5            Jerry McNerney

SD 7            Kathryn Lybarger

SD 9            Tim Grayson

SD 11          Scott Wiener

SD 13          Josh Becker

SD 15          Dave Cortese

SD 17          John Laird

SD 19          Lisa Middleton

SD 21          Monique Limón

SD 23          Kipp Mueller

SD 25          Sasha Renee Perez

SD 27          Henry Stern

SD 29          Eloise Gomez Reyes

SD 31          Sabrina Cervantes

SD 33          Lena Gonzalez

SD 35          Michelle Chambers

SD 37          Josh Newman

SD 39          Akilah Weber

# # #


February 6, 2024

Contact: Jenna Thompson, 949.246.1620, [email protected]